when multiplying a negative if there is only one negative do you take the sign of the highest number or no?
Thank you for the opportunity to help you with your question!
When you multiply 2 negative numbers it becomes a +ve. This is irrespective of the value. Can you please rewrite the question, is it: -3(5a-2) ???
-3 (5a + 2)
Got it, so it is:
Hope it helps you my friend. Please revert if you have any future questions. Thank you.
ok thanks for your help. so if im adding a positive and a negative do i take the sign of the higher number? or are the rules the same for adding and multiplying?
2(3+ 7x) -15
So in this case you will have to use the BODMOS rule(Brackets, Order, Divide, Multiply, Add, Subtract), so in our case there is multiply first to remove brackets, so:
1. Multiply: 6+14x-15
2.Then: 14x-9 = Answer.
Content will be erased after question is completed.
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we will email you a link to reset your password.
Forgot your password?