Administering desktop clients

label Programming
account_circle Unassigned
schedule 1 Day
account_balance_wallet $5

Suppose you would like to keep your personal data, Windows Store apps, basic settings, personalization settings, BitLocker settings, and wireless settings after your Windows 8 computer is recovered. You would also like to retain your traditional apps and their associated settings without reinstalling them. Describe the recovery option(s) that you would use to achieve this goal. Provide a rationale for your selection(s).

Sep 7th, 2015

Thank you for the opportunity to help you with your question!

Our solution in Windows 8 consists of two related features:

  • Reset your PC – Remove all personal data, apps, and settings from the PC, and reinstall Windows.
  • Refresh your PC – Keep all personal data, Metro style apps, and important settings from the PC, and reinstall Windows.
  • Resetting your Windows 8 PC goes like this:

    1. The PC boots into the Windows Recovery Environment (Windows RE).
    2. Windows RE erases and formats the hard drive partitions on which Windows and personal data reside.
    3. Windows RE installs a fresh copy of Windows.
    4. The PC restarts into the newly installed copy of Windows.

    Refreshing your PC goes like this:

    1. The PC boots into Windows RE.
    2. Windows RE scans the hard drive for your data, settings, and apps, and puts them aside (on the same drive).
    3. Windows RE installs a fresh copy of Windows.
    4. Windows RE restores the data, settings, and apps it has set aside into the newly installed copy of Windows.
    5. The PC restarts into the newly installed copy of Windows.


Please let me know if you need any clarification. I'm always happy to answer your questions.
Sep 7th, 2015

Studypool's Notebank makes it easy to buy and sell old notes, study guides, reviews, etc.
Click to visit
The Notebank
...
Sep 7th, 2015
...
Sep 7th, 2015
Sep 20th, 2017
check_circle
Mark as Final Answer
check_circle
Unmark as Final Answer
check_circle
Final Answer

Secure Information

Content will be erased after question is completed.

check_circle
Final Answer