User Generated


Computer Science

Question Description

What is name of 6th layer in OSI Model and its purpose ?

Student has agreed that all tutoring, explanations, and answers provided by the tutor will be used to help in the learning process and in accordance with Studypool's honor code & terms of service.

Explanation & Answer


The OSI model defines a networking framework to implement protocols in seven layers.

Layer 1

The physical layer of the OSI model defines connector and interface specifications, as well as the medium

(cable) requirements. Electrical, mechanical, functional, and procedural specifications are provided for sending a bit stream on a computer network.

Layer 2

Layer 2 of the OSI model provides the following functions:

• Allows a device to access the network to send and receive messages

• Offers a physical address so a device’s data can be sent on the network

• Works with a device’s networking software when sending and receiving messages

• Provides error-detection capability

Layer 3

Layer 3, the network layer of the OSI model, provides an end-to-end logical addressing system so that a packet of data can be routed across several layer 2 networks (Ethernet, Token Ring, Frame Relay, etc.). Note that network layer addresses can also be referred to as logical addresses.

Layer 4

Layer 4, the transport layer of the OSI model, offers end-to-end communication between end devices through a network. Depending on the application, the transport layer either offers reliable, connection-oriented or connectionless, best-effort communications.

Layer 5

Layer 5, the session layer, provides various services, including tracking the number of bytes that each end of the session has acknowledged receiving from the other end of the session. This session layer allows applications functioning on devices to establish, manage, and terminate a dialog through a network. Session layer functionality includes:

• Virtual connection between application entities

• Synchronization of data flow

• Creation of dialog units

• Connection parameter negotiations

• Partitioning of services into functional groups

• Acknowledgements of data received during a session

• Retransmission of data if it is not received by a device

Layer 6

Layer 6, the presentation layer, is responsible for how an application formats the data to be sent out onto the network. The presentation layer basically allows an application to read (or understand) the message. Examples of presentation layer functionality include:

• Encryption and decryption of a message for security

• Compression and expansion of a message so that it travels efficiently

• Graphics formatting

• Content translation

• System-specific translation

Layer 7

Layer 7, the application layer, provides an interface for the end user operating a device connected to a net-

work. This layer is what the user sees, in terms of loading an application (such as Web browser or e-mail); that is, this application layer is the data the user views while using these applications.

Ureznf (79)
Rice University

Great content here. Definitely a returning customer.