Museum Website Scavenger Hunt

Apr 19th, 2016
Steve1995
Category:
Other
Price: $15 USD

Question description

Part A: Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque Eras

·  Choose one of the following visual arts media:

o  Painting

o  Sculpture

o  Architecture

·  Browse the University of Phoenix Material: List of Recommended Websites for Art Museums found on your student website. Choose one example of your chosen visual arts medium from each of the time periods below:

o  Middle Ages (400–1300 CE)

o  Renaissance (1400–1600 CE)

o  Baroque Era (1600–1750 CE)

Each example should be from a different museum website.

·  Complete the following table for each of your selected artworks from each period:

Middle Ages

Renaissance

Baroque

Name of artwork

Name of museum

Link to work of art

Purpose of artwork

Date created

Place created

Name of artist

·  Provide a brief description of each work of art:

Middle Ages

Renaissance

Baroque

·  Summarize, in roughly 150-words, how aesthetic values in the visual arts changed over the course of these three concurrent eras.

Aesthetic Values in Visual Arts

Part B: Neoclassical and Romanticism Eras

·  Go to MyArtsLab® and find the resources for Ch. 20, Closer Look: Théodore Géricault, The Raft of the Medusa and Eugène Delacroix, Liberty Leading the People: July 28, 1830. Review pp. 485 & 488 of your text.

o  How does Théodore Géricault express the neoclassical ideal of humanitarianism through his painting, The Raft of the Medusa?

o  How does Eugène Delacroix express the Romantic ideals of individual freedom and autonomy through his painting, Liberty Leading the People?

In your analysis, how do Neoclassical ideals precipitate the aesthetics of Romanticism in these two works of art?

List of Recommended Websites for Art Museums

U.S. Art Museums

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: http://www.metmuseum.org/

The Museum of Modern Art: http://www.moma.org/

National Gallery of Art: http://www.nga.gov/

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: http://www.mfa.org/

The Phillips Collection: http://www.phillipscollection.org/

The Art Institute of Chicago: http://www.artic.edu/aic/index.php

Whitney Museum of American Art: http://www.whitney.org/

The Frick Collection: http://www.frick.org/

Guggenheim Museum New York: http://www.guggenheim.org/new_york_index.shtml

Guggenheim Museum Bilbao: http://www.guggenheim-bilbao.es/ingles/home.htm

Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Renwick Gallery: http://americanart.si.edu/index3.cfm

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: http://hirshhorn.si.edu/

Smithsonian Institution National Museum of African Art: http://www.nmafa.si.edu/voice.html

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery: http://www.asia.si.edu/

The National Portrait Gallery: http://www.npg.si.edu/

Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum: http://cooperhewitt.org/

National Museum of the American Indian: http://www.nmai.si.edu/

The Getty: http://www.getty.edu/

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: http://www.sfmoma.org/

National Hispanic Cultural Center: http://www.nationalhispaniccenter.org/index.php

American Visionary Art Museum: http://www.avam.org/

American Folk Art Museum: http://www.folkartmuseum.org/default.asp?id=886

National Museum of Mexican Art: http://www.nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org/

The Mexican Museum: http://www.mexicanmuseum.org/home.asp?language=english

Global Museums

The British Museum: http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/

Victorian and Albert Museum: http://www.vam.ac.uk/

Tate: http://www.tate.org.uk/

National Portrait Gallery: http://www.npg.org.uk/live/index.asp

The National Gallery, London: http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/

Royal Academy of Arts: http://www.royalacademy.org.uk/

Musee de Louvre: http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home_flash.jsp?bmLocale=en

Musee d’Orsay: http://www.musee-orsay.fr/en/home.html

Centre Pompidou: http://www.centrepompidou.fr/home30ans/index.html

Museo Nacional del Prado: http://museoprado.mcu.es/ihome.html

Vatican Museums: http://mv.vatican.va/3_EN/pages/MV_Home.html

Polo Museale Fiorentino: http://www.polomuseale.firenze.it/english/musei/uffizi/

Galleria Borghese: http://www.galleriaborghese.it/

Architecture Websites

Amiens Cathedral: http://www.mcah.columbia.edu/Mcahweb/index-frame.html

Buddhist Architecture: http://www.indiasite.com/architecture/buddhist.html

Great Buildings: www.greatbuildings.com

Islamic Architecture:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_architecture

Sculpture and Installation

Kiki Smith: http://www.sfmoma.org/exhibitions/exhib_detail.asp?id=206

Pepón Osorio: http://www.pbs.org/art21/artists/osorio/

Museum Timelines

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History:

http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/splash.htm?HomePageLink=toah_l

American Art Timeline: http://www.phillipscollection.org/research/american_art/index.htm

General Resources

The Artchive: http://artchive.com/ftp_site.htm

Art Cyclopedia: www.artcyclopedia.com

Web Gallery of Art: http://www.wga.hu/


Tutor Answer

(Top Tutor) Daniel C.
(997)
School: Boston College
PREMIUM TUTOR

Studypool has helped 1,244,100 students

8 Reviews


Summary
Quality
Communication
On Time
Value
pmallory
Dec 10th, 2016
" Totally impressed with results!! :-) "
mixedballz
Dec 1st, 2016
" excellent work as always thanks for the help "
Five Star Tutor
Nov 26th, 2016
" Outstanding Job!!!! "
kiln82
Nov 17th, 2016
" awesome work thanks "
darnay
Nov 8th, 2016
" The best tutor out there!!!! "
likeplum4
Nov 4th, 2016
" Excellent work as usual "
kpcutie
Oct 12th, 2016
" Excellent job "
Joemoe
Oct 3rd, 2016
" <3 it, thanks for saving me time. "
Ask your homework questions. Receive quality answers!

Type your question here (or upload an image)

1825 tutors are online

Brown University





1271 Tutors

California Institute of Technology




2131 Tutors

Carnegie Mellon University




982 Tutors

Columbia University





1256 Tutors

Dartmouth University





2113 Tutors

Emory University





2279 Tutors

Harvard University





599 Tutors

Massachusetts Institute of Technology



2319 Tutors

New York University





1645 Tutors

Notre Dam University





1911 Tutors

Oklahoma University





2122 Tutors

Pennsylvania State University





932 Tutors

Princeton University





1211 Tutors

Stanford University





983 Tutors

University of California





1282 Tutors

Oxford University





123 Tutors

Yale University





2325 Tutors