peer review

Anonymous
timer Asked: Oct 21st, 2018
account_balance_wallet $5

Question Description

Peer reviews of our fellow-students' Draft Proposals are due at the end of this assignment week. Canvas has automatically assigned each student three Draft Proposals to evaluate, so here is what to do next:

1. Read the Peer Review Guidelines document below. This will give you an idea of the conventions of peer review and some directions about how to provide good feedback for your three assigned papers.

Guidelines_for_Peer_Review.pdf

2. Have a look at the documentation for completing peer reviews on Canvas:

http://guides.instructure.com/s/2204/m/4212/l/54363-how-do-i-submit-a-peer-review-to-an-assignment

3. Then . . . go back to the Draft Proposal Assignment in the Week 9 Module and, following the Canvas instructions, complete the three peer reviews assigned to you.

Remember, IEEE and nearly all other professional associations require members to assist their co-workers. Item 7 in the IEEE Code of Ethics requires members "to seek, accept, and offer honest criticism of technical work, to acknowledge and correct errors, and to credit properly the contributions of others", while item 10 asks members "to assist colleagues and co-workers in their professional development and to support them in following this code of ethics."

So . . . consider this peer-review exercise as one step toward your own engineering and information sciences professionalism!

Unformatted Attachment Preview

Patrick Alfonso 10/12/2018 Research Proposal – Metal Additive Manufacturing Summary Metal Additive Manufacturing (MAM) is an innovative manufacturing process that involves constructing metal components layer-by-layer. By building metal components up in crosssectional slices, the process supports the construction of highly complex/sophisticated parts and minimizes waste. Although the technology supporting this process is still in its infancy, it’s obvious that MAM will open the door to endless possibilities in the manufacturing industry. The proposed research/report serves to educate university executives of the various technologies currently supporting MAM, the implications of these technologies within multiple industries, and how/why the university should become involved in MAM’s development. Over a timeframe of two to three weeks, I will perform research to find relevant and up-to-date information on MAM and will synthesize it into an organized report. As an undergraduate student in USF’s mechanical engineering department, and seasoned employee within the contract manufacturing industry (Jabil Inc.), I have the knowledge base necessary for synthesizing only the most important information within this report. I have a strong understanding of current metal manufacturing methods and will directly compare them to MAM. Lastly, I am capable of writing a report for which any member of the university’s business unit can understand in full. Rationale and Significance Recent advancements in MAM technologies have proven that the process is not only feasible, but efficient and scalable. Despite this, MAM technologies require some level of development before the process can be commercially implemented world-wide. Here are some of the areas where USF could contribute to the development of MAM technologies [1]: • • • • • Induced thermal stresses during manufacturing Loss of material ductility Limited selection of materials Dimensional and geometrical inaccuracies Poor surface finish Between the university’s knowledge base and resources, it should strive to resolve these issues and ultimately secure intellectually property that could prove to be lucrative in the future. An original design patent or innovative MAM process could redefine the manufacturing industry and become commercialized world-wide. Patrick Alfonso 10/12/2018 Report Outline I.) II.) III.) IV.) V.) VI.) Title Page Introduction to Metal Additive Manufacturing (MAM) a. Concept Outline b. MAM History c. Highly Applicable Industries i. Aerospace and Defense ii. Automotive iii. Medical iv. Rapid Prototyping Overview of Current MAM Processes and Technologies a. Selective Laser Melting (SLM) b. Direct Metal Laser Sintering (DMLS) c. Electron Beam Melting (EBM) d. Laser Cladding e. Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM) MAM Materials Analysis a. Material Reaction per MAM Process i. Strength/Ductility ii. Thermal Stresses iii. Dimensional/Geometrical Inconsistencies iv. Shrinkage v. Porosity/Surface Finish b. Applicable Materials per MAM Process c. Material Costs MAM Future Development a. Companies Involved in MAM Development i. Current Technologies/Progress ii. Future Goals/Aspirations iii. Markets Targeted b. MAM Areas of Opportunity i. Process Development ii. Material Development c. University Involvement i. Intellectual Property in Emerging Market ii. Incentive Based Research Programs 1. Professor Research 2. Student Research Conclusions Patrick Alfonso 10/12/2018 Research Methods and Methodology The majority of research for this report will be conducted through the USF Online Library. Other information will be obtained through Google Scholar and company websites. To ensure accurate and up-to-date information, only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles written within the last five years will be utilized in describing modern technologies. Articles dating back more than five years will be used as background/historical information. I will synthesize only the most important information from each article to elaborate on the ideas described in the Report Outline. This information will be scrutinized by its modern relevance, its descriptive nature, and its implications in MAM’s progress. My report will be holistically unbiased and will depict my findings accurately/honestly. Qualifications of the Author and Connection to Topic I am a first-semester junior studying mechanical engineering at the University of South Florida. My relevant coursework includes: • • • • Mechanical Manufacturing Processes Materials Engineering (Metal and metal-alloy focused) Solid Mechanics Technical Communication for Engineers I also have professional experience in the manufacturing industry. My relevant professional experience includes: • • • • • Rapid Prototyping Product/Process Development and Support Machining of Metal Components/Fixtures 3D Printing of Plastic Components Printing/Dispensing Circuitry This report serves as an opportunity to synthesize information on an upcoming and promising manufacturing process. Because MAM technologies will soon redefine metal manufacturing industries, I am seeking to obtain a deeper understanding of MAM so that I may share this knowledge with the university to promote further research, testing, and technological developments. Work Schedule Patrick Alfonso 10/12/2018 Working Bibliography TO: FROM: SUBJECT: Dr. Michael Shuman DATE: October 15, 2018 John Roy Proposal for Research Paper―Application of Defense in Depth Strategy to Cyber Security Rationale for the Topic and Approach This report serves to increase the knowledge of all users of information technology in understand why cyber security is important and how secure operation can be achieved. In the modern age, information technology has permeated its way into nearly all facets of society. Despite the world’s heavy reliance on technology, few users understand the importance of cyber security and how to operate computerized systems in a secure fashion. While the world has become more interested in cyber security following multiple far-reaching cyber attacks, the general public’s knowledge of good security posture is still lacking. The defense in depth strategy is a good starting point for those unfamiliar with cyber security and can prove to be effective in the real world. Research Methods and Methodology The majority of information will be pulled from articles and publications hosted by US government agencies, as the US federal government has championed the idea of defense in depth for a number of years. Google Scholar will also contribute significantly in the way of related scholarly papers. Some information published by cyber security firms on their own websites may also be used as supporting evidence. Work Schedule Week 1: Oct 15-21 Week 2: Oct 22-28 Week 3: Oct 29-Nov 4 Week 4: Nov 5-11 Week 5: Nov 12-19 Read sources, revise and expand outline, begin work on III Finish III, begin work on IV and VI Update sources and finish IV and VI Begin and finish V, Finish first draft Perform revisions and complete report by Nov 19 Outline of Report I. Letter of transmittal II. Title Page III. History of Defense in Depth and Relation to Cyber Security a) Ancient Military Strategy b) Principles of Cyber Security i. Confidentiality ii. Integrity iii. Availability c) Introduction of Types of Controls IV. V. VI. i. Physical controls ii. Technical controls iii. Administrative controls Physical Controls a) Personnel b) Physical safeguards Technical Controls a) Hardware b) Software i. Antivirus ii. Software firewalls iii. Host-based intrusion detection systems c) Network i. Network firewalls ii. Network-based intrusion detection systems Administrative Controls a) Policy b) Procedures Qualifications of the Author and Connection to Topic The author has 8 years of technical and policy experience with cyber security working for the US Air Force, one of the leading government organizations in the fields of cyber security and information technology. In addition, he is Security+ and Healthcare IT Technician certified by CompTIA, a foremost information technology accrediting agency. He is also in his senior year at the University of South Florida in Tampa, FL where he expects to graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Information Technology in 2019. Working Bibliography https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/cyberpedia/what-is-a-firewall https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/security/firewalls/what-is-a-firewall.html https://www.incapsula.com/web-application-security/defense-in-depth.html https://ww2.isa.org/standards-publications/isa-publications/intechmagazine/2012/december/automation-it-defense-depth/ https://www.isa.org/standards-and-publications/isa-publications/intechmagazine/2011/june/system-integration-physical-security-101-evolving-defense-in-depth/ https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/milcom/2006/0617/00/04086659-abs.html https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5894b0172e69cf2daa162742/t/593400d220099e9f0 0a4a6c1/1496580309172/2011_MILCOM.pdf https://ics-cert.us-cert.gov/sites/default/files/recommended_practices/NCCIC_ICSCERT_Defense_in_Depth_2016_S508C.pdf https://www.nist.gov/publications/measuring-and-improving-effectiveness-defensedepth-postures https://www.energy.gov/sites/prod/files/oeprod/DocumentsandMedia/Defense_in_Depth_ Strategies.pdf https://federalnewsnetwork.com/commentary/2016/07/cybersecurity-defense-depthmodel-fails-agencies/ Digital Synthesizer Proposal TO: Dr. Shuman DATE: October 15, 2018 FROM: Sebastian Gazda SUBJECT: 1st Draft of Research Proposal- Creating a mini digital synthesizer with four microcontrollers. Rationale for the Topic and Approach Digital synthesizers are a common instrument purchased and used by musicians all around the world. This project shines a light on the simplicity of these electronics and the ease at which they are produced. The details of this report could inspire young minds to get into electrical engineering and produce things like this on their own, also possibly saving them selves money. The digital synthesizer built in this project will be significantly smaller in key amount and sound range capability, but it could easily be scaled up at a fraction of the price of an actual synthesizer. Research Methods and Methodology The research begins with finding the best microcontroller for the job, one that would complement my skill level, would be cheap, and had plenty of functionality. The microcontroller in consideration is the PIC18F4550 by Microchip. Once the microcontroller is found, it is important to become familiar with its pins and what they are able to be used for. Next it is necessary to research how to configure the microcontroller and then how to program it to perform the needed functions. Once all this work is done then the last big step is to create a wiring diagram for the whole synthesizer, and then wire everything together. Once wired the synthesizer will be tested to see if it works properly. Work Schedule. 10/6/2018 Identifying a research project Doing perlimenary research Finding appropriate graphics Completing and posting this chart Completing the progress report Writing the first draft of the proposal Revising the proposal Submitting the final proposal fro grading 10/11/2018 10/16/2018 10/21/2018 10/26/2018 Qualifications of the Author The author is a first semester Junior studying to receive his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering at USF. He has a focus in the mechatronics track and has done research with robotics in the past. The author has completed many projects with a large variety of different microcontrollers. ...
Purchase answer to see full attachment

Tutor Answer

Watsonn
School: Cornell University

At...

flag Report DMCA
Review

Anonymous
Tutor went the extra mile to help me with this essay. Citations were a bit shaky but I appreciated how well he handled APA styles and how ok he was to change them even though I didnt specify. Got a B+ which is believable and acceptable.

Similar Questions
Related Tags

Brown University





1271 Tutors

California Institute of Technology




2131 Tutors

Carnegie Mellon University




982 Tutors

Columbia University





1256 Tutors

Dartmouth University





2113 Tutors

Emory University





2279 Tutors

Harvard University





599 Tutors

Massachusetts Institute of Technology



2319 Tutors

New York University





1645 Tutors

Notre Dam University





1911 Tutors

Oklahoma University





2122 Tutors

Pennsylvania State University





932 Tutors

Princeton University





1211 Tutors

Stanford University





983 Tutors

University of California





1282 Tutors

Oxford University





123 Tutors

Yale University





2325 Tutors