Showing Page:
Showing Page:
Module 3 Citizen-Voter Education
Citizen-Voter Education
At the end of the module, the students are expected to raise their level of awareness
of the towards a responsible, democratic, and sustained participation in electoral and
governance processes.
Specifically, this module aims to:
1. define the right of suffrage;
2. discuss the brief history of Philippine elections;
3. acquaint the students with the basic concepts of democracy and the role of
elections in democracy and governance;
4. stress the importance of one’s vote;
5. encourage students to participate in the whole electoral and governance process;
6. eventually effect informed political choices among the citizen voters.
II. ALLOTTED TIME: Lecture and discussion : 1 hour
Film Showing: 1 ½ hours
Part 1: Boto Ko, Kinabukasan Ko
Part 2: Pagboto at Pamamahala
Part 3: Proseso ng Pagboto
Part 4: Pag-asa sa Pagboto
Group Dynamics: 30 minutes
Let each group express their ideas/views about certain scenarios and/or
pictures that will be assigned to them.
A. Brief History of Philippine Elections
During the pre-colonial period, leaders were chosen based on his/her capacity to
ensure the survival of his/her tribe and clan. Wisdom, skills, and respect for people were
the important qualities for leadership.
A system of election was first practiced in the Philippines during the Spanish and
American colonial period. But the process was only limited to male voters and was more
of a ceremonial rather than a genuine democratic mechanism.
Sectoral struggle and political participation were only realized in 1937 when Act
4112, granting women the right of suffrage, was implemented and when the peasant
movements gained meaningful participation in political parties and in actual filling of
government positions.
The first democratic elections after WW II was the 1946 election for President and
Vice-President of the Republic, Members of the Senate and of the House of
Representatives. From then on, the country operated on a two-party system where two
major political parties, the Nacionalista Party and the Liberal Party, figure in succeeding
Showing Page: